2016-2017 Basketball Season

The Stratford Minor Basketball Association is gearing up for another exciting season! We are looking for parents and/or family members to coach the children and/or serve on the Executive so please consider giving us a hand!

The season will begin after the Thanksgiving holiday and the schedule will be finalized shortly before then. We are looking forward to seeing you!

Registration options -

Online, Phone, Email, or directly at Town Hall:

Online registration is available via the Town Of Stratford website or by contacting Joanne Smith phone: 902.569.6250, email: jsmith@townofstratford.ca or in person (Mon-Fri between the hours of 11:00am – 4:00pm)

In person registration for Basketball will take place on Saturday September 24th from 8:00am - 11:00am at the Stratford Town Centre (during Community Expo).

Registration costs for the 2016-2017 season are $100.00 for all Divisions except Tykes and Bantam. Registration for the Tykes Division (Pre-K to K) is $70.00 and for the Bantam Division is $60.00. A late fee of $10.00 will be applied after October 23, 2016.

*Note: The Tykes Division will be limited to 30 participants (2 groups of up to 15) with an exciting program in cooperation with NBA Canada.

For more information, please contact Doug Newson by phone (902) 388-1376 or email dougnewson@gmail.com

Link to: 

2016-17 Program Flyer

2016-17 Registration Form


12th Annual SMBA Jamboree

The Stratford Minor Basketball Association will be hosting it's 12th Annual Jamboree on Saturday February 13, 2016.

Here are links to the registration form;

Registration form - MS-Word or
Registration form - PDF

House league teams from the following divisions are invited to attend:
- Small Ball (Grades 1-2)
- Junior Mini (Grades 3-4)
- Mini (Grades 5-6)

We ask that Division 1 or 'A' Mini players please refrain from participating. Also, please ensure that all teams are clearly marked as boys, girls or mixed.

The cost is $50 per team. Teams will be guaranteed at least two games. Please fill out the registration form and send or email it to dougnewson@gmail.com before the registration deadline of February 5, 2016. Although player names are not essential, please provide as much detail as possible so we can contact coaches by email with the final schedule. The schedule will be posted on our website and emailed to contacts after February 8th.

Registration is limited and will be considered based in the order in which they are received and/or by filling the schedule to ensure we can meet the minimum number of guaranteed games per division.

Any questions, please contact Doug Newson at the following;

Email: dougnewson@gmail.com

Birchwood Basketball Camp

Basketball camps will be running again this year starting Saturday, April 2nd/2016 at 9am at Birchwood Intermediate School.

Each session will be 1 hour and consist of fun drills and skills followed by a game. The camp will run for 8 consecutive weeks and finish on May 21st. The cost of the program will be $40 with limited space available. Early registration will be Saturday, March 5th (10am – 12 noon) at Birchwood Intermediate.

* Reminder to bring indoor sneakers and your basketball if you have one.

    Camp 1 (9am-10am) – for ages 6, 7, 8 and 9 (Boys and Girls)
    Camp 2 (10am-11am) – for ages 10, 11, 12 and 13 (Boys and Girls)

For further information, please contact Troy MacCallum at 902.940.3627

Stratford MBA 2015/2015 Executive

At our recent AGM held on October 7th, 2015, a number of elections were held to fill various positions on the Stratford Minor Basketball Association Executive.

The 2015/2016 Stratford Minor Basketball Executive is as follows;

President: Doug Newson (2 year term)
Vice President: Cameron Olscamp (1 year term)
Treasurer: Cathy Reid (renewed for 1 year term)
Secretary: Vacant
Past President: Rudi Terstege (1 year)
Board Member: Daniel Williams (1 year term)
Board Member: Vacant
Registrar: Stratford - Recreation, Culture and Events Department (Nicole Manuel) - ex-officio

Other - Communications Coordinator (appointed by President) - Rudi Terstege

We are a grateful to all our Executive members for volunteering their time to serve on our board.